Soul Train Awards 2021: Complete winners list

Johnny Nunez/Getty Images for BET

The 2021 Soul Train Awards hosted its annual celebration Sunday night at New York's iconic Apollo theatre. Hosted by Tichina Arnold and Tisha Campbell, the pre-taped show honored the best in soul, R&B, and hip-hop music, as well as the 50th anniversary of the Soul Train television legacy. 

The awards ceremony featured electric performances from Silk Sonic’s Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak, Ari Lennox, Lucky Daye, Fred Hammond, Tone Stitch, Musiq Soulchild, Leon Bridges, ELHAE, and Summer Walker.

Ashanti also took the stage for a show-stopping performance with guests Ja Rule and Fat Joe after accepting the Lady of Soul Award. And Maxwell gave a shout-out to original Soul Train host Don Cornelius when accepting the Living Legend Award, and serenaded the crowd with medley of classic hits

Here are the winners:

Song of the Year
Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak(Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”

Album of the Year
Jazmine Sullivan – Heaux Tales

Video of the Year
Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak (Silk Sonic) – “Leave the Door Open”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Jazmine Sullivan

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Best Collaboration
Wizkid feat. Tems – “Essence”

Best New Artist
Yung Bleu

Certified Soul Award
Charlie Wilson

Best Dance Performance
Normani Feat. Cardi B – “Wild Side”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award
Kirk Franklin

The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award
“Leave the Door Open” – written by: Bruno Mars, Brandon Anderson, Dernst Emile Ii, Christopher Brody Brown (Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic)

Monday, November 29, 2021 at 7:00AM by Danielle Long Permalink