Arctic Monkeys detail new album, 'The Car'

Domino; Credit: Matt Helders

Arctic Monkeys have announced a new album.

The seventh studio effort from the English rockers -- and first since 2018's Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino -- is called The Car and will arrive October 21.

According to a press release, The Car "finds Arctic Monkeys running wild in a new and sumptuous musical landscape and contains some of the richest and most rewarding vocal performances of Alex Turner's career."

Frontman Turner also speaks about the record in a new interview with The Big Issue, sharing, "I think we've got closer to a better version of a more dynamic overall sound with this record."

"The strings on this record come in and out of focus and that was a deliberate move and hopefully everything has its own space," Turner explains. "There's time the band comes to the front and then the strings come to the front."

No new music from The Car has officially been released, and it remains to be seen whether Arctic Monkeys will be taking the same approach they did with Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino, which was not preceded by any advanced singles. However, according to, AM did debut a song from The Car, "I Ain't Quite Where I Think I Am," live during their show in Switzerland Tuesday.

Here's the track list for the Car:

"There'd Better Be a Mirrorball"
"I Ain't Quite Where I Think I Am"
"Sculptures of Anything Goes"
"Jet Skis on the Moat"
"Body Paint"
"The Car"
"Big Ideas"
"Hello You"
"Mr Schwartz"
"Perfect Sense"

Wednesday, August 24, 2022 at 10:15AM by Josh Johnson Permalink